Election 2020: full list of MPs who failed to retain their seats

A political hurricane of incredible magnitude swept through the parliamentary polls when 31 Members of Parliament (MPs) from both sides of the House tumbled.

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) MPs suffered 28 casualties, including ministers, ministers of state and deputy ministers, crumbling under the weight of their opponents from the National Democratic Congress (NDC).

While the NDC lost in few constituencies, it made inroads into NPP territories.

For the big shots that fell, and their political parties, they might be undergoing some quiet introspection to establish what went wrong.

The voting pattern has indicated what has come to be known in political parlance as “skirt and blouse” .

NPP casualties

Some of the NPP heavyweights who fell were:

Hajia Alima Mahama, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Nalerigu -Gambaga

 Mr George Andah, Deputy Communications Minister, Awutu Senya

Mr Yaw Buaben Asamoa, Adentan

George Oduro, Deputy Minister of Food and Agriculture, New Edubiase

Alhaji Boniface Abubakar Saddique, Minister of State, Madina

Mr Siaka Stephens, Deputy Bono Regional Minister, Jaman North

Mr Yaw Afful, Deputy Aviation Minister, Jaman South

Ali Maiga Hamidu, Dormaa West

Prof. George Gyan Baffuor, Minister of Planning, Wenchi

Major  Derrick Oduro (retd), Deputy Minister of  Defence, Nkoranza North

Mr Charles Konadu Yiadom, Nkoranza South

Ms Abena Durowaa Mensah, Assin North

Mrs Barbara Asher Ayisi, Deputy Minister of Works and Housing, Cape Coast North

Mr Francis Kingsley Cudjoe, Deputy Minister of Fisheries, Ekumfi

Mr Alexander Abban, Deputy Minister of Communications, Gomoa West

Mr Joseph Tetteh, Upper Manya Krobo

Mr Ebenezer Nartey, Ablekuma Central

Mr Daniel Nii Kwartei Titus Glover, Deputy Minister of Transport, Tema East

Mr Joseph Dindiok Kpemka, Deputy Attorney-General, Tempane

Mr Frank Adongo Fuseini, Deputy Upper East Regional Minister, Zebilla

Mr Anthony Abeifa Karbo, Deputy Minister of Roads, Lawra

Mr Michael Gyato,  Deputy Minister of Sanitation and Water Resources, Krachi East

Mr Paul Essien, Deputy Minister of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs, Jomoro

Barbara Oteng Gyasi, Minister of Tourism, Prestea Huni Valley

Mr Kofi Amoakohene, Bono East Regional Minister, Atebubu Amanten

Mr Gabriel Osei, Tain

Dr Bernard Okoe Boye, Deputy Minister of Health,  Ledzokuku

Mrs Elizabeth Afoley Quaye, Minister of Fisheries and Aquaculture, Krowor

Mrs Paulina Abayange, Upper East Regional Minister, Navrongo Constituency

NDC casualties

For the NDC, its MPs who lost were:

Alhaji Ibrahim Rauf Tanko, Yagba/Kubore

Mr Adam Mutawakilu, Damongo


Some of the candidates who caused upsets were:

Mr John Peter Amewu of the NPP, who scored a historic victory by grabbing the Hohoe Constituency

Mr Francis Xavier Sosu, a legal practitioner, NDC, Madina

Mr Yussif Mustapha, NPP, Yagba/Kubore

Mr Samuel Abu Jinapor, NPP, Damongo

Mr Robert Wisdom Cudjoe, NDC, Prestea Huni Valley

Madam Lydia Akanvariba Adakudug, NDC, Tempane

Dr Kwamina Minta Nyarku, NDC, Cape Coast North

Alhaji Baba Issifu Seidu,  NDC, Nalerigu-Gambaga

Ms Gizella Tetteh-Agbotui, NDC, Awutu Senya West

Mr Joseph Kwasi Mensah, NDC Nkoranza North

Mr Mohammed Adamu Ramadan, NDC, Adentan

Bede Ziedeng, NDC, Lawra

Ashai Odamtten, NDC, Tema East


A number of MPs who brushed off opposition to retain their seats included:

Mr Osei Kyei-Mensah Bonsu, NPP, Suame

Mr Edward Bawa, NDC, Bongo

Mr James Agalga, NDC, Builsa North

Mr Ken Ohene Agyapong, NPP, Assin Central

Mr G.K. Ricketts-Hagan, NDC, Cape Coast South

Mr Samuel Atta Mills, NDC, Komenda Edina Eguafo Abirem

Ms Sarah Adwoa Safo, NPP, Dome Kwabenya

Dr Zanetor Agyeman-Rawlings, NDC, Klottey Korle