5 Aspirants kicked out from presidential election race

Electoral commission has disqualified five out of the seventeen presidential hopefuls who filed to run for the election in 2020.

The disqualified candidates include Kwesi Bosomoro [PAP], Akwesi Addae Odike [UFP], Marricke Kofi Gane [independent], Kofi Koranteng [independent] and  Agyenim Boateng [independent].

Factors hindering these candidates from contesting the 2020 elections according to the EC chair Jean Mensah include IT issues, similar handwriting and signatures, fake signatures, supporters from the same districts, incomplete data among others of which have been reported to the police CID for investigations.

Their filing fees of GHC100,000 will, however, be reimbursed, the EC noted.

The remaining Twelve out of the total Seventeen that filed their nominations will have the chance to represent their parties at the polls.

EC chairperson Madam Jean-Mensah made the announcement at a ‘let the citizen know’ press briefing today October 19.

They include Mr Alfred Kwame Asiedu Walker, Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo, Christain Kwabena Andrews, Ms Bridget Dzorgbenuku and John Dramani Mahama.

Others are Madam Akua Donkor, Nana Konadu Agyemang Rawlings, Hassan Ayariga, Ivan Kobina Greenstreet, Henry Herbert Lartey, Kofi Akpaloo and David Apasera

Two women for the first time in the nation’s history will contest at the general election.